The Surge, Emma and Miss Bates.

Dear Ms. Anise, I have returned from leave and we have been pretty busy with the surge. There are a few more requests for books on nonprofit management and grant writing as well as for a copy of the book Catch 22. Thank you for all the extra care package items. We have shared them especially with a unit from Australia that relocated recently from an encampment before under some trees.

The best part of my leave was my being able to spend a good amount of time with my kids. They are living with my sister while I’m deployed. On several legs of the journey home and back I did read Emma. I had to put the book down, only to then pick it back up. Emma became sort of like a girlfriend, I wanted to break up with but then kept going back to her. In our family I think we have both a Miss Bates and an Emma but that’s all I will put in writing on that subject. If possible, I would like to request a copy of Camus’ The Stranger.

Sincerely, Captain Anthony Bates

Published by

Dena@shaldenandneatham

Writer of fiction and a little poetry. Member of JASNA, so I am a confirmed Janeite!

Leave a Reply

